Thanksgiving 2016 — Part 1

02_roseandgirls^^ The meeting between Lotte and my grandmother was one of the biggest highlights of this trip. I’ll never, ever forget it.

Well friends, last Thursday was Thanksgiving. And while I can hardly believe it’s over, and that we’re on to December and Christmas now, I can say without a doubt that we had a really good one. As our first Thanksgiving without my mom, I’ll admit I was a little worried about how it might go. But having a baby and being constantly on the move kept me from dwelling too much on the sad part of the holiday and helped me to focus on how much I do have in my life, and how much Lotte is so loved by all these friends and family of ours.

The day before Thanksgiving we stopped by the assisted living place where my Grandmother lives to surprise her with a visit. It was my sister’s idea to do that, and I’m so, so glad she thought of it.

01_lotteandrose
^^ Did I tell you about this child and her side eye?! I have tons of nice photos from my Grams and my daughter’s first meeting, but this one just makes me laugh every single time I look at it. Both of these ladies are too, too much.

03_roseandgirls04_funnyrose^^ Chris just kept taking shots while we were moving around the room, and this totally candid and ridiculous one has got to be one of my favorites, too.

We stayed at my sister and brother-in-law’s new house the night before Thanksgiving, which is only about 15 minutes from my aunt and uncle’s, where we would be spending the holiday. It was nice to have a little down time in the morning and to not have to rush too much to drive somewhere far away.

img_9819
^^ #parenting 😉

05_thanksgivingoutfit
^^ Aunt Stephie and Lotte, in the outfit (shoes included) that Aunt Stephie bought for her for the holiday. Too. Stinkin’. Cute. Too bad a poop explosion caused her to only wear it for about two hours on the actual day. Oh well – at least we got a couple photos!

06_thanksgivingday
^^ Meeting the extended fam.

07_thanksgiving-day08_thanksgivingday09_thanksgiving-day
^^ My Grams and her two great-granddaughters – priceless.

10_thanksgivingday11_thanksgivingday12_thanksgivingday13_thanksgivingday14_thanksgivingday
^^ The meltdown post diaper blowout and pre-outfit change.

15_thanksgivingday16_thanksgivingday17_thanksgivingday

img_9519
^^ You know a holiday was great when it ends like this 😉

It was really so great spending time with our family for Thanksgiving, and the following day we loaded up the car and headed to Pennsylvania to do it all over again with my Dad’s gang. Can’t complain about two Thanksgivings, that’s for sure!

I’ll be back tomorrow with photos from our final couple days back east. Until then – bis bald!

Leave a Reply

