Happy Thanksgiving, From Our Family to Yours

Well friends, the holiday season is officially and truly upon us! Over the course of our almost seven years together (yikes!), the Thanksgiving holiday for myself and Chris has taken on a bit of a traditional feel. We usually have Thanksgiving with my mom’s side of the family on the actual day — where Chris runs the New Paltz Turkey Trot in the mornings and we make pumpkin soup to contribute to the meal — and then spend Friday with my dad’s side of the family for a second holiday feast.

Here’s a bit of what our holiday looked like this year …

Upstate New York Thanksgiving.

^^ The New Paltz Turkey Trot is held right around the super cute downtown shopping area.^^ The New Paltz Turkey Trot is held right around the super cute downtown shopping area.

_DSC4314

_DSC4315

_DSC4318

_DSC4319

_DSC4323

_DSC4324

_DSC4325

^^ This lovely business decided to set up some fire pits outside the Start line before the race. It was a lifesaver in the 18 degree weather!^^ This lovely business decided to set up some fire pits outside the start line before the race.
It was a lifesaver in the 18 degree weather!

_DSC4331

_DSC4332

_DSC4334

_DSC4335

_DSC4336

^^I loved taking shots here. Everyone is so nice and friendly, and so anxious to get their day of feasting on.^^I loved taking shots here. Everyone is so nice and friendly, and so anxious to get their day of feasting on.

_DSC4341

^^ Feisty running sneaks.^^ Feisty running sneaks.

_DSC4346

_DSC4353

^^ And here's my husband, coming in with the fast people.^^ And here’s my husband, coming in with the fast people.

^^ My mom's dog was feeling thankful for my lap.^^ My mom’s dog was feeling thankful for my lap.

^^ Pumpkin soup beginnings ...^^ Pumpkin soup beginnings …

_DSC4375

_DSC4377

^^ So thankful for this family^^ So thankful for this family

_DSC4381

_DSC4382

^^ Grams, taking her first sips of beer in over a decade. The end result? "They're making them more bitter than they used to!"^^ Grams, taking her first sips of beer in over a decade. The end result?
“They’re making them more bitter than they used to!”

_DSC4408

_DSC4422

^^ Birthday cakes for two birthday boys^^ Birthday cakes for two birthday boys

^^ A very happy birthday to my stepdad Robert, so will always be a kid at heart^^ A very happy birthday to my stepdad Robert, so will always be a kid at heart

New Jersey Thanksgiving.

^^ Our traditional NJ Thanksgiving Broccoli & Cauliflower Bake^^ Our traditional NJ Thanksgiving Broccoli & Cauliflower Bake

_DSC4454

_DSC4461

_DSC4464

_DSC4480

^^ Chris and I brought back his favorite children's book from Australia for Rory. It's called "There's a Possum in the House," and we're told it's now one of his favorites.^^ Chris and I brought back his favorite children’s book from Australia for Rory.
It’s called “There’s a Possum in the House,” and we’re told it’s now one of his favorites.

^^ And of course it wouldn't be Thanksgiving without Chris concocting up some cocktails.^^ And of course it wouldn’t be Thanksgiving without Chris concocting up some cocktails.

So that’s it friends — another Thanksgiving in the books. The next few weeks before Christmas are so full of fun things, I can barely stand it. We have a Super Secret Birthday Trip next weekend for my stepdad (my second Super Secret birthday trip this year … how great am at keeping secrets!), lots of fun dinner and drink plans and a weekend in the city with my nephew and the rest of our fam. Then it’s off to Vermont for my Aunt and Uncle’s holiday gift to us, and a celebration for our one year wedding anniversary.

Bis bald, friends!

9 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving, From Our Family to Yours

  1. Pingback: The Year 2013: A Review | Weary Wanderer

  2. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to your blog
    before but after going through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m certainly delighted I stumbled upon it
    and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

  3. I absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post’s
    to be exactly what I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content for
    you personally? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write with regards to here.
    Again, awesome blog!

  4. I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly.
    I’m quite certain I’ll learn plenty of new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  5. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be precisely
    what I’m looking for. Does one offer guest writers to write content available for you?
    I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write about here.
    Again, awesome site!

  6. Good day! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with SEO?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m
    not seeing very good results. If you know of any please share.
    Kudos!

  7. I’m really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?

    Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like
    this one nowadays.

Leave a Reply

